Dr. MarkAlain Déry, DO, MPH, FACOI Selected as Internist of the Year

Dr. MarkAlain Déry, DO, MPH, FACOI, of Access Health Louisiana will be honored this fall as Internist of the Year by the American College of Osteopathic Internists (ACOI), a national professional organization dedicated to promoting the principles of osteopathic medicine. ACOI will bestow the honor on Oct. 23 during its annual convention (#ACOI2020), which will be held virtually this year.

Each year, outstanding physicians are chosen from a pool of ACOI members who have been nominated for their accomplishments and activities that are deserving of recognition. Winners are selected by the ACOI Honors and Awards committee based on specific criteria for each award.

To qualify for the Internist of the Year award, a physician must demonstrate exceptional status in continuing professional accomplishments, scholarship, and professional activities, including teaching, research, and community service which may include:

-The opinion of osteopathic internal medicine leaders relative to clinical excellence;

-Receipt of awards recognizing clinical excellence from hospitals, state healthcare organizations, and the community;

-Development of a model clinical program that has made an impact on osteopathic internal medicine;

-Leadership role in clinical direction as a chief of medicine, medical director, etc.;

-Recognition of bedside teaching excellence.

Déry currently serves as chief innovation officer for Access Health Louisiana, as well as chief medical director for the AIDS Education and Training Center in New Orleans.