LSU Health NO’s Dental School Nationally Recognized

Louisiana’s only dental school earned a number of top honors at the recent American Dental Education Association (ADEA) annual meeting. On behalf of the school, Sandra Andrieu, PhD, associate dean and ADEA past-president, and Henry Gremillion, DDS, MAGD, professor and dean of LSU Health New Orleans School of Dentistry, accepted the 2018 Gies Award for Outstanding Vision by an Academic Dental Institution. The Gies Awards, named after William J. Gies, PhD, honor individuals and organizations that exemplify the highest standards in oral health and dental education, research, and leadership.

Gremillion was just elected chair-elect of the ADEA board of directors.

Janice Townsend, DDS, MS, professor and chair of pediatric dentistry, received the ADEA/Colgate-Palmolive Co. Excellence in Teaching Award. Jane M. Walsh, RDH, JD, director of the dental hygiene program and associate professor, was awarded the ADEA/Sunstar Americas, Inc./Harry W. Bruce, Jr. Legislative Fellowship. Adriana Wilson, DDS, MSD, clinical assistant professor of prosthodontics, received the ADEA/AAL Faculty of Color Tuition Scholarship for Professional Development: ADEA/AAL Compass Program for Academic Advancement. Bailey Wilson, a student in the dental hygiene program, received the ADEA/Sigma Phi Alpha Linda DeVore Scholarship.

LSU Health New Orleans School of Dentistry is the only dental school in the nation that offers degrees in dentistry, dental hygiene, and dental laboratory technology. Three of every four dentists and dental hygienists practicing in Louisiana today are graduates of the school.