TGMC Announces 2018 Bayou Region Athletic Hall of Fame Inductees

The Foundation for Terrebonne General Medical Center (TGMC), along with the TGMC Community Sports Institute, has announced six Bayou Region Athletic Hall of Fame inductees. These individuals will be recognized at a banquet which will be held June 29 at Cypress Gardens in Gray.

The inductees include the following:

Ron Estay Estay graduated from South Lafourche High School in 1968 where he was an all-state defensive lineman for the Tarpons. He went on to star at Louisiana State University, earning the ABC-TV Chevrolet Defensive NCAA Player of the Year in 1971, along with being chosen as an Associated Press All-American. Estay played in the Canadian Football League (CFL) and was a six-time Grey Cup Championship winner with the Edmonton Eskimos. He is presently a CFL Hall of Fame member.

Earl Gros is a 1958 Terrebonne High School graduate and played football at Louisiana State University. At LSU, he received All-SEC recognition and led the team in rushing yards in 1961. Gros was drafted by the Green Bay Packers as a first round pick in 1962 and played nine years in the National Football League.

Harold Haydel attended St. Francis High School and led the Terriers to become baseball State Champions in 1959, 1961, and 1962. Haydel was the first bayou region native to be drafted into the MLB when he was chosen by the Houston Colt 45’s in 1962. He later pitched for the Minnesota Twins in 1970 and 1971.

In 1985, Tommy Hodson graduated from Central Lafourche High School after receiving all-state honors as aquarterback for the Trojans. He attended Louisiana State University and holds the LSU career passing record of 9,115 yards and 69 touchdowns, along with multiple All-SEC and All-American honors. Hodson was a third round draft pick by the New England Patriots in 1990 and had more than 1,800 passing yards and seven touchdowns in his NFL career.

Wally Whitehurst graduated from Terrebonne High School in 1983. He then attended the University of New Orleans where he led UNO’s baseball program to the first NCAA World Series appearance in Louisiana collegiate history.  He was a third round draft pick by the Oakland A’s in 1985 and pitched in the MLB for seven years with the New York Mets, the San Diego Padres, and the New York Yankees.

Larry Wilson attended Central Lafourche High School where he earned High School Basketball Dapper Dan All-American honors and was the Louisiana State High School MVP in 1975. Wilson graduated from Nicholls State University as a two-time Gulf Coast Conference Player of the Year and a three-time Division II Associated Press All-American. He is the NSU career scoring leader with 2,596 points. Wilson was drafted by the Atlanta Hawks in 1980 in the second round.

The Hall of Fame banquet honoring these will be held from 6 p.m. – 9:30 p.m. Each honoree will earn a spot of prominence on the Bayou Region Athletic Wall of Fame, which is located in the TGMC Community Sports Institute.

Inductees represent some of the top athletes from Terrebonne, Lafourche or Assumption Parishes who are also dedicated to community involvement. 

Event tickets will go on sale May 14 on For more event information, call (985) 873-4603 or email Paul Labat at